Mission
Home  >   About us   >  Mission
To befriend, on humanitarian grounds, people who are facing difficulties or are lonely and depressed, by helping them to regain confidence in life.  To publicize and promote the spirit of our service in the community through talks, seminars, research and other means of community service. To help in the South East Asia and neighbouring areas to set up organizations with a nature and mission similar to ours.
  1. We establish ourselves as the Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong to bring out in full the benevolence in human nature, and with love, patience and compassion, nurture the spirit of mutual aid, mutual support and mutual affection.
  2. We give the hopeless, the helpless and the suicidally inclined a listener when they need one so that they can relate their inner pain and distress. 
  3. We let help seekers feel accepted and supported so as to enable them to overcome emotional distress and face up to their problems.
  4. We respect the right of help seekers in self-determination even if they decide to commit suicide, and also their right to discontinue contact with us at any time. 
  5. We respect the privacy of help seekers and will not disclose their personal information to any outside party. Such information would only keep by us for the purpose of providing effective service. Our Chairman and supervisory officers have the right to get access to detail of cases. No service shall be provided should a help seeker find this unacceptable.
  6. We shall not take advantage of our contact with help seekers to instill personal values, faith or political stance.
  1. We provide 24-hour telephone hotline service, interview service by appointment and correspondences service for clients.  All our members are volunteers, having been carefully selected and trained, and are being supervised by experieneced members and relevant professionals.
  2. We provide 24-hour telephone hotline service, interview service by appointment and correspondences service for clients.  All our members are volunteers, having been carefully selected and trained, and are being supervised by experieneced members and relevant professionals.
  3. The Life Education Centre promotes suicide prevention via community services, seminars, publications (newletters, books and reports), research and surveys, education and international conferences.  Through these activities we aim to promote the message of suicide prevention and help people to bravely overcome their life difficulties as well as learning to care for the people around them as a contribution to the community.
  4. The Caring Fund promotes the works of suicide prevention as well as calls forth in the community in loving one's life and caring others through community caring services, public talks, promotional activities, training of Caring volunteeers, public training and education at professional certificate level, etc.
  5. We endeavour to talk to every client but priority is given to those with high suicidal intent.
  6. If the situation of a client is such that substantive relief (social or medical service) is warranted, then we shall provide the client with the relevant information, or with client's consent, refer the case to relevant organizations.  In case of emergency and no objection from the client, we shall notify relevant organizations or person to assist the client.
  7. When a client wishes us to assist another person who is suicidal, we shall provide as much information as we can and recommend that person to contact us directly, otherwise we shall not approach that person.  Exception is by reason that the client is young, old or infirmity.  In that case, we shall try to contact that person.
  8. We offer assistance for the establishment of organizations with similar nature and mission in the South East Asia and neighbouring regions, or offer training courses to promote their service quality.

宗旨
首页  >   关于我们   >  宗旨
基於人道立场,协助面临各种困难、
陷於孤独与沮丧的人士,鼓励他
们重建求生信念。
透过演说、讲座、刊物、调查报告
等方式,宣传及推广本会的服务精
神。
协助东南亚及香港邻近地区,建立与
本会性质及目标相同的组织。
  1. 香港撒玛利亚防止自杀会成立的目的是要发扬人类善美的本质,以爱心、耐性及同情,建立人际间互助、互勉、互爱的精神。

  2. 我们让绝望、无助、有自杀意图的人士,在有需要时可以找到聆听者,诉说内心的痛苦和困扰。

  3. 我们让求助者感到被接纳和支持,从而克服情绪困扰、面对问题。

  4. 我们尊重求助者的自决权,即使他们决定要自杀,他们亦可以随时终止与我们的联络。

  5. 我们尊重求助者的私隐权,在未经求助者同意之前,我们绝不会向会外人士洩露其个人资料,但为了提供有效的服务,本会主席及督导人员有权知道求助者的谈话内容。若求助者不能接纳,我们将不会提供服务。

  6. 我们不会藉著与求助者接触的机会,向他灌输个人的价值观、信仰和政治立场。
  1. 本会热线中心提供二十四小时电话热线,在预约情况下亦会提供面谈服务,求助者亦可以用书信及电邮与本会联络。而本会的热线工作员全属义工,是经过挑选和训练,并由资深会员及专业人士督导。
  2. 透过自杀危机处理中心,提供服务内容包括自杀危机评估、紧急危机处理、危机介入辅导及转介服务等工作,帮助面临自杀危机的人士重建求生的信念及巩固他们应付危机的能力。
  3. 生命教育中心透过社区服务、公开讲座、出版刊物 (年报、会讯、书籍、报告)、调查研究、宣传教育、国际会议等来推动自杀防治的工作,让人们活出人生意义,勇於面对困难,使关怀身边人,贡献社会。
  4. 「关怀身边人基金」主要透过社区关怀服务、公开讲座、宣传教育、「身边人」义工培训、对外培训、各类与防止自杀相关的专业證书课程等来推动自杀防治的工作,呼籲大众热爱生命,关怀别人。
  5. 本会会为每一位求助者提供服务,但会优先服务有自杀意图的求助者。
  6. 如求助者的情况需要实质援助 (社会服务、医疗),本会会提供资料,或在他同意下,转介有关服务。如情况危急及在求助者不反对下,替他通知有关机构或人士寻求援助。
  7. 如求助者要求本会协助其他有自杀倾向的人士时,本会会尽量提供资料,并建议当事人与本会接触。除非当事人因过於年幼、老迈或身体不适,要由他人代为联络,则本会会尝试接触当事人。
  8. 本会致力协助东南亚及香港邻近地区,建立与本会性质及目标相同的组织,或提供有关训练,提升服务质素。